DAM Directory: Metadata: Core

Dublin Core Metadata Element Set (DC)

Dublin Core represents... "core metadata for simple and generic resource descriptions."

Dublin Core Implementations

Dublin Core Tools

Dublin Core Generator

Recommended DC Vocabularies

DCMI Metadata Terms
"This document is an up-to-date specification of all metadata terms maintained by the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative, including properties, vocabulary encoding schemes, syntax encoding schemes, and classes."
[MIME] Internet Media Types
May be used as values for the Format element.
W3C Date and Time Formats (W3C-DTF)
ISO 3166
"The International Standard for country codes and codes for their subdivisions."

PBCore

"PBCore is a metadata schema designed for sound and moving images."

PBCore.org

SMPTE

ST 2102:2017 - SMPTE Standard - SMPTE Core Metadata
"The SMPTECore standard provides definitions for a core set of descriptive (only) metadata as a reference to support interoperable use across diverse professional broadcast and feature motion picture workflows and user tasks. The SMPTE Core set of elements is common to existing metadata standards in use in the broadcasting and feature motion picture communities."
EN 15907
"EN 15907 defines a metadata set for the comprehensive description of cinematographic works including the various incarnations it can assume during its lifecycle."
EN 15744
"EN 15744 is a metadata set for basic identification of cinematographic works....this standard defines a set of data elements considered relevant for the identification of audiovisual creations at the work level."
ST 335 (Metadata Element Dictionary Structure)
"This standard defines the structure of a dictionary of metadata elements that may be used in a range of applications such as production workflow applications, data exchange formats, and archival asset management systems."
SMPTE RP-210 (Metadata Element Dictionary)
"The data element dictionary defines data elements, including their names, descriptions and identifiers, for association with essence or other metadata."

EBU Core

"EBUCore has been purposefully designed as a minimum and flexible list of attributes to describe audio and video resources for a wide range of broadcasting applications including archives,exchange and production in the context of a Service Oriented Architecture."

EBU Core

IPTC Core

IPTC Photo Metadata
"IPTC Photo Metadata sets the industry standard for administrative, descriptive, and copyright information about images."
IPTC Photo Metadata User Guide
"This document is designed to familiarise photographers, photo editors and metadata managers with the use of the IPTC Photo Metadata. It provides a short guideline on the use and semantics of each IPTC field (also called metadata property)."
IPTC Photo Metadata Mapping Guidelines
Metadata mapping between IPTC Photo Metadata, Exif tags, and the Schema.org vocabulary.
IPTC (dpBestflow)
A brief guide to the IPTC schema, as well as its history.

VRA Core

"The VRA Core is a data standard for the description of works of visual culture as well as the images that document them. The standard is hosted by the Network Development and MARC Standards Office of the Library of Congress (LC) in partnership with the Visual Resources Association."

VRA Core Schemas and Documentation

Darwin Core

Darwin Core
"....includes a glossary of terms (in other contexts these might be called properties, elements, fields, columns, attributes, or concepts) intended to facilitate the sharing of information about biological diversity by providing identifiers, labels, and definitions. Darwin Core is primarily based on taxa, their occurrence in nature as documented by observations, specimens, samples, and related information."