Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BagIt (Library of Congress)
"BagIt transfer Utilities are a collection of tools developed for the purpose of validation and transfer of bags. Developed by the Library of Congress and their partners in the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program (NDIIPP)."
"CheckSummer is a graphical utility to calculate cryptographic checksums of arbitrary files. It supports MD5, SHA-1, and SHA-256 digest algorithms."
"DROID (Digital Record Object Identification) is an automatic file format identification tool. It is the first in a planned series of tools developed by The National Archives under the umbrella of its PRONOM technical registry service."
"Fixity is a free utility for automated monitoring and reporting on the data integrity of stored files."
"JHOVE provides functions to perform format-specific identification, validation, and characterization of digital objects."
"....md5, a command line utility usable on either Unix or MS-DOS/Windows, which generates and verifies message digests (digital signatures) using the MD5 algorithm."
NARA File Analyzer
"The NARA File Analyzer Tool walks a directory tree and performs a "File Test" on each file that is encountered."
"Bridge is a powerful creative asset manager that lets you preview, organize, edit and publish multiple creative assets quickly and easily. You can edit metadata, add keywords, labels and ratings to assets, organize assets using collections and find assets using powerful filters and advanced metadata search features."
Advanced Renamer (Windows)
"It is easy to set up a batch job using multiple methods on a large amount of files. The 14 different methods enables you to change the names, attributes, and timestamps of files in one go. The files can also be copied or moved to new locations based on information in the files....Before performing the operations on the files you can verify that the output will be correct and if you perform the rename and regret it, you can undo the complete batch."
A Better Finder Rename (Mac)
"Feature-packed file renaming with EXIF, MP3, instant preview, multi-step renames, presets and reg ex support."
File Renamer (Windows)
"With this program, you can rename entire directories and subdirectories of files/Images/Photos at once with a powerful preview and with multiple tools. It was designed to be easy to use yet powerful enough to handle some of the most complex tasks."
"NameChanger helps you rename a list of files quickly and easily. See the changes as you type. Change names by Replace First Occurrence, Replace Last Occurrence, Replace All, Wildcard, Prepend, Append, Character Removal, Case Changing, Regular Expressions, Sequence and Date. Advanced options for file extensions and selective renaming. Also contains an Image Browser for visual reordering of photos, integrated Quick Look and ability to save a rename for later use."
PFrank File Renamer (Windows)
PFrank is an acronym for Peter's Flexible RenAmiNg Kit. This is a Freeware Professional Grade bulk file/folder Renaming Program that runs under Windows. With this tool you can easily organize your music, picture, video, or any other types of files.
"ReNamer is a very powerful and flexible file renaming tool, which offers all the standard renaming procedures, including prefixes, suffixes, replacements, case changes, as well as removing contents of brackets, adding number sequences, changing file extensions, etc. For advanced users there is support for Regular Expressions and a PascalScript rule, which lets users program their very own renaming rule."
"A complete, cross-platform solution to record, convert and stream audio and video."
Adobe Media Encoder
"Ingest, transcode, create proxies, and output to almost any format you can imagine. Automate your workflows with presets, Watch Folders, and Destination Publishing. Use Time Tuner to invisibly adjust duration, and apply LUTs and Loudness corrections without having re-open projects. Tight integration with Adobe Premiere Pro, After Effects, and other applications provides a seamless workflow."
File transfer acceleration
The Big Mean Folder Machine
This tool enables you to create multi-level folder hierarchies, merge the files from multiple folder hierarchies into a single folder, or split large file collections into batches of a pre-determined size.
Nifty File Lists
"Nifty File Lists allows you to save file lists in MS Excel, Numbers & Pages-friendly CSV (Comma-Separated Values), TSV (Tab-Separated Values) and even HTML formats."